Gelatin is a protein that is hydrolyzed from collagen. Gelatin is an easily digestible protein, containing all essential amino acids except tryptophan. Gelatin can be obtained from the skin and bones of animals. The highest production of gelatin is sourced from cows and pigs. Because some religions prohibit the consumption of foods that containing cows or pigs. For this reason, it is necessary to have an alternative source of gelatin which is lawful and can be consumed by all people. One alternative source of halal gelatin is lencam fish bone waste (Lethrinus lentjan).
Janet Bela Nor Malita, Eddy Suprayitno (2019); Effect Of Demineralization With Sulfuric Acid On Yield, Gel Strenght, Viscosity, And Amino Acids Of Gelatin Extracted From Fish Bones Lencam (Lethrinus lentjan); International Journal of Scientific and Research Publications (IJSRP)
9(6) (ISSN: 2250-3153), DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.29322/IJSRP.9.06.2019.p9032